Life with L

Thinking Out Loud!

Wasteful

with one comment

Greetings

Today was our first day back to school after the holiday break.  My three student aides greeted me cheerfully as I rushed into my office to get started working on completing the substitute assignments.  We were chatting about the break, when one of the girls said, “You know what Mrs. Leaness, I didn’t get anything for Christmas.”  How does one respond to that?  We so often take what we have for granted. This girl is one of the sweetest girls I know. She is always willing to lend a hand to help anyone, her fellow classmates included.  She talks a lot about her home life and believe me it is not always a pretty picture.

Waste

Fast Forward

At the end of the day today, I went to check my school mailbox and found this beautiful, glossy, color catalog of our upcoming professional development sessions.  The catalog has over 100 pages – one that explains how to read the catalog.  At the bottom of each page is a banner stating,”Please log on to the PD Planner via Schoolnet to register for all activities.”   My first reaction was simply to question why I even received this catalog. You see, our PD sessions are always posted in Schoolnet.  Then, I started to get really angry.  I thought of my student aide and how she really doesn’t have much. Believe me, she is certainly not the exception in our school district.  Why then does a school district that lacks money and resources frivolously spend what they do have on senseless PR.  The catalog was published to announce the opening of our new regional professional development centers (at district schools). My question is, wouldn’t a one page Flyer have been sufficient?

Written by Life With L

January 4, 2010 at 6:44 PM

Posted in 1

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I guess, as a prep teacher, I was not graced with this magnificent document. What a WASTE. I am totally angry enough to rip a phone book–or similarly thick book (wink wink)–in half!

    What drives me really crazy is how enabling this kind of document is. I have made a point of forcing my teachers to use online resources and communicate through online means by eliminating most paper communication. If we continue to allow teachers to rely on print media, how will they be ready to prepare their students for a world without paper?

    Sigh. In the meantime, I’m scouring the PD Planner for ANY kind of tech-related PD. No dice.

    Mary Beth Hertz

    January 4, 2010 at 9:06 PM


Leave a Reply

