Life with L

Thinking Out Loud!

True confessions of a novice blogger.

with 9 comments

True confessions….

I first created this blog in 2005 and have only written three entries. They are now in the trash.  Why?  I am not really sure why.  I can only guess it is fear, fear of the unknown, fear of being mocked, of not being worthy. I am only back here because I have asked my grad students to blog, and now want to ask my high school students to do the same. It didn’t seem fair to require my students to do something I was unwilling to do myself.

I have started this blog entry four times….

The first entry was about my frustrations with standardized testing.  I know I am  just adding my voice to the choir.  Maybe it is because I teach in an urban high school where the kids just don’t buy-in to the test.  My students are smarter than those who create the test because they get it that the tests are not a true measure of who they are.  My students are the statistics, statistics that lie.  My last benchmark results showed that my students performed at 52 percent proficient.  Ha. What they don’t show are the girl who sits in the first row with 100% correct on the first day, who never finished the test because she was sick, or the MG kid in the fourth row who is quite capable of scoring advanced yet refuses to take it because the test means nothing to him.  What is it getting him? I am frustrated because I see my students, I see their potential, their creativity, their true ability, something a standardized test result will never show.  If I am this frustrated, imagine how my students feel….

The second attempt at blogging was about my experience on twitter.  Those of you reading this are already on twitter and many have described their experience with twitter and their PLN much better than I ever could. Enough said.

The third attempt at blogging was just a highlight of all the bloggers I have read.  I stand in awe of these people.  I have learned about inclusion and all matters special ed from Ira Socol, Karen Janowski, and Deven Black. I continue to learn about 21st century learning as I read Sheryl NussbaumBeach, Steven Anderson, Lucy Gray, Vicki Davis and Will Richardson. My favorite General Education blogs,  Jonathan Becker, Chris Lehmann, Dean Shareski, Larry Ferlazzo, Lee Kolbert. My new Philly connection MaryBeth Hertz.  So if this blog does nothing else other than offer some great bloggers to check out, then I have done something right.

More true confessions….

I know I should be doing something with the sidebar in this blog but what?

Many of my grad students are smarter than me.

I am scared to death to walk into the room at educon.

I love playing Texas Holdem in AC.

So, I have gotten to the end.  Funny, this blog was much better when I was tossing it around my head.  The blank page before me erased all those well-constructed thoughts…

Written by Life With L

November 9, 2009 at 3:06 AM

Posted in Education

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations on your new post.

    The key to writing well is to write, get some constructive feedback, write, feedback, and write. Then write some more.

    When I think I have well-constructed thoughts and can’t seem to get them down on paper (a frequent problem for me), I’ve learned to just keep writing until I can’t write anymore, then edit with a sharp razor. The ideas are in there, I just have to cut away the dross to pull them out.

    Keep writing and you will emerge.

    Deven Black

    November 9, 2009 at 3:45 AM

  2. Oh, as for your sidebar. That’s where you put links to those blogs you mentioned. Look at my blog, http://educationontheplate.wordpress.com for an example.

    Deven Black

    November 9, 2009 at 3:46 AM

  3. Ann,

    What’s crazy is that you probably have a tiny glimmer of pride for your students because they realize BS the benchmarks are. I tell my students that the benchmark is so their teacher can know exactly which particular skills they need practice in. Some care, some don’t.

    I’m not even sure if what I’m telling them is correct because we all get things wrong from time to time even when we understand them well!

    i think your grad students will appreciate you making the effort to write an entry. It means a lot to see a teacher not just preaching but practicing.

    We can hold each other’s hand as we walk into Educon, and maybe we can start a Hold ‘Em game. I used to have Ladies’ Poker Night at my house.

    P.S. Thanks for the shout out 🙂 I look forward to meeting you at BarCampPhilly!

    Mary Beth Hertz

    November 9, 2009 at 3:47 AM

  4. Ann,
    You are much more brave than I! Congrats on your first entry, the re-acquaintance blog. As a choral director, I value each member of my choirs. So your unique voice does matter because no one else has your voice! I am getting my head around blogging. How’s your probability game of Texas Holdem? I’m proud to have read a Philly-teacher blog and could only wait til I can DM you to tell you I started one. Unitl then, I look forward to your posts!

    Yoon Soo Lim

    November 9, 2009 at 7:21 AM

  5. Way to be brave and start writing. I do not consider myself to be a very good writer, but the more I blog, the more ideas I have to blog about. Like anything practice helps. Keep it up.

    concretekax

    November 9, 2009 at 7:28 AM

  6. Well, I look forward to seeing you at EduCon! 🙂

    And yeah, just keep writing. I’m trying to get myself back into the habit, too.

    Chris Lehmann

    November 12, 2009 at 2:54 PM

  7. Thanks for all the comments. I am hoping to keep this going. Can’t wait to meet all of you at EduCon.

    Ann

    November 13, 2009 at 1:45 PM

  8. “Write your 5th post first” Merlin Mann.

    What he means is that it usually takes you 5 posts to start writing about what really matters to you. They key is passion. I know it sounds corny but without it, it becomes hard to sustain. For me blogging is a way to synthesis important ideas that I care about. I”m not worried about preaching to the choir but my ideas get revised and improved with every comment. Even without the comments, it’s useful.

    I’m glad you want to be a model for your students. That’s important. In the end, this is your space and you have to make it whatever you want it to be.

    See you at EduCon.

    Dean Shareski

    November 19, 2009 at 10:38 AM


Leave a Reply

